People            Research             Publications             Collaborators              Teaching
Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr. Sonia Baloni

Ph.D. (Neuroscience), University of Gottingen, Germany

Dr. Sujith Thomas

Ph.D. (Computer Science and Engineering), IIT Kanpur

Doctoral Students

Maruti V. Mishra

I hail from Mumbai. I wonderfully spent my early young years (BSc. University of Mumbai) in understanding Biotechnology (applying Genetics, Immunology  and microbiology) and then researching (MSc- University of Mumbai)  interesting aspects of neurobiology (neurogenetics, development, anatomy and animal behavior; Thesis on effect of nanoparticles on Glioma cell lines). I have had exposure of working with a large number of animal models for neurobiology during my masters that include Earthworms, Drosophilia and their larvae, Snails, Zebra fishes and Glioma cell lines. That was not enough, and I got interested into asking how humans afford to display so many unique behaviours and cognitive capabilities. That is when I joined CBCS. My current research area deals with unlocking the relationship between attention and awareness, scope of attention and perception, emotion perception, and their corresponding neural correlates in humans. I also display my interests in conducting/ organizing/ being part of workshops arranged for  awareness of cognitive science and Neuroscience among the general public, doodlings of comic scripts and cartoons/ caricature on various cognitive science issues, roaming around for various national and international conferences/ workshops/ seminars on cognitive science.

Mukesh Makwana

M.Sc. (Biotechnology), University of Mumbai, India
B.Sc. (Biotechnology), University of Mumbai, India

I am currently interested in understanding how our intentions affect our perception and more specifically, time perception. Other research areas of interest include attention, emotion perception, sense of agency, and effect of social factors on perception. Being from the field of Biotechnology, I also hold interest in epigenetics and opt genetics.

Amrendra Pratap Singh

Email :

I obtained my Bachelor’s Degree (2004-2007) in Computer Science, Psychology & Mathematics from University of Allahabad and Master’s Degree in Cognitive Science (2009-2011) from CBCS, University of Allahabad. My basic interest is to study how various kinds of mental training (e.g. Meditation Practices) can affect various cognitive skills, mainly those related to attention, visual perception and memory. I am especially interested to see the link between different meditation practices (Concentrative Meditation and Open Monitoring Meditation), affect, and Scope of attention (Focused and Distributed). My current research is in the area of Attention and Time perception, where I am trying to explore how scope of Attention affects Time perception, using different paradigm like Temporal Order Judgment (TOJ) and Time Estimation. In future I would like to further explore how meditation can influence human cognition. The goal is to scientifically tease apart the mechanism underlying meditation and come up with improved training mechanisms which in turn would lead to betterment of cognitive skills and a better understanding of how human brain works. I am passionate about cooking and in my leisure time you can find me trying new recipes (either eating or cooking).

Dhrubajyoti Sarma

Dhrubajyoti Sarma completed his undergraduate Technical degree in Biosciences from Visvesvaraya Technological University, Karnataka. After that, he completed M.Sc. in Cognitive Science from CBCS, University of Allahabad. He is currently doing his PhD at CBCS. In his Master Thesis, he explored the Change Blindness phenomenon. In his doctoral research, he is investigating the phenomenology of controlling one’s own action or how the sense of controlling one’s own action arises (i.e. Sense of Agency). He is also interested in understanding how our experiences influence our interactions with information both in tangible and intangible forms. He often juggles between his passion for art, beats and photography and has a special interest in folklore.



Saravana Priyan completed his M.Sc. in Cognitive Science from CBCS. He is interested in modelling attention and consciousness.

Shradhanjali Tripathi

Shradhanjali completed her M.Sc. in Cognitive Science from CBCS. She is interested in studying meditation.

Shilpi Bharadwaj

Mindfulness and meditation

Ankit Gupa


Master Students
  • Diksha Gautam
  • Sanchita Mohindru
  • Shree Vallabha
  • Vishwas Dalal
  • Chandan Kumar Srivastava
  • Ishan Singhal
  • Saurabh Ranjan

Research Assistants
  • Paridhi Mathur
  • Trisha Dutta


Postdoctoral Fellows

  • Shruti Tewari, IIM Indore
  • Ark Verma, IIT Kanpur
  • Shashikanta Tarai, National Institute of Technology, Raipur
  • Kavita Pandey (MELA Project)
  • Shail Shankar (MELA Project), Indian Institute of Technology, Mandi
  • Tushar Singh (MELA Project), Benaras Hindu University
  • Massimiliano Palmiero, Università degli Studi dell'Aquila, Italy

Doctoral Students
  • Abhilasha, Siemens Technology and Services Private Limited, Bengaluru
  • Devpriya Kumar, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
  • Nishant Saxena, Anthropological Survey of India
  • Shruti Baijal, Cactus Communications
  • Priyanka Srivastava, International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad

Research Assistants
  • Ajita Srivastava

Master Thesis Supervision 

Shilpi Bharadwaj, Sripada Samhita, Abhishek Singh Narvaria (2016-17)
Nupur Labh, Ranjith, Piyoosh Parimoo, Utkarsh Yogi (2015-16)
Nilambari Hajare, Rujuta Pradhan, Paridhi Verma, Shradhanjali Tripathi, Shamini Warda (2014-15)
Avinash Prabhakar, Gurshrdha Kaur Bhasin, Nirav Manoj Porwal, Nithin George, Pranav Kumar, Nitish Verma (2013-2014)
Radha Nila, Akshata Bhat, Saravanan, Dinesh Kumar (2012-13)
Dhrubajyoti Sharma, Bhausaheb Biradhar, Divya Maurya, Meher Kiran, Amita Byatnal (2011-12)
Gurjyot Singh, Manjuparna Raychaudhuri, Amrendra Pratap Singh (2010-2011)
Sumitava Mukherjee, Aditi Arora, Smriti Kesarwani, Sanju Menon (2009-10)
Manish Asthana, Anand Jeyahar, Aparna Pandey, Devpriya Kumar (2008-09)
Monika Lohani,
Asma Hanif, Vivek Kant, Samudragupta Bora (2007-08)
Dilip Athreya, Gunjan Khera, Apara Ranjan, Setu Havanur, Bhaktee Dongaonkar, Shruti Narang, Farah Naaz (2006-07)
Neha Khetrapal, Proshanto Saha, Shruti Baijal (2005-06)
Vani Pariyadath,
Arindam Bhattacharjee, Priyanka Srivastava (2004-2005)